Step-by-step Post Photos

When you’re learning how to write the advice typically goes, “Write what you know.” Since I don’t feel very knowledgeable about Learning Environment Design yet, I thought I would borrow the advice for my first modeling assignment. Behold my learning environment: teaching a rabbit to use a ramp.

IMG_20160816_205830

My first step was to map out my desired outcome, or Evidence. Since this is a very tiny learning environment it was easy to choose an outcome: Ghost would learn how to access his cage via the ramp we built.

IMG_20160816_204729

The next step was adding the blocks that I thought would help lead to this outcome. So I added Dialogue, Practice, and Feedback blocks to support the Evidence.

I forgot to take the pictures PRIOR to adding the context (only one) and I deemed this an Experiential Learning Environment. Since I chose the wrong colored paper for the Experiential context, I hastily scribbled purple swirls everywhere.

Next came the actions. At this point my design was starting to feel very fleshed out, and it felt easy to add in the actions. I would present the Ramp Lecture, Ghost would practice after my presentation, and then I would provide positive/negative feedback in a loop until he got all the way up the ladder. In the end, it looked like this:

IMG_20160816_205813

Since this model is so small and simple, I didn’t have too many extra notes to add to the model. I made sure to note that feedback would be provided to Ghost in the form of carrots (when he progressed a rung) or additional lecturing (I used a stuffed animal bunny to demonstrate how the ladder worked) when he chose to chew on the ramp instead.

I really enjoyed how easy it was to model this using the provided materials. My biggest stumbling block in this was trying to figure out which way the arrows should go, and I’m not sure if I demonstrated the Practice/Feedback loop as well as I could. Let me know if there’s anything you would improve!

 

3 thoughts on “Step-by-step Post Photos

  1. Okay, I’m not sure whether to laugh, cry, or laugh until I cry :-). Seriously, this is an excellent LEM, although there may be some hidden assumptions or challenges inherent in teaching a rabbit to do anything. I am particularly interested in the “lecturing” of the rabbit. What’s Ghost’s attention span?

    Like

    1. The lecture primarily consisted of me using a stuffed animal roughly Ghost’s side, and then making the stuffed animal “walk” up the ladder. It helped that Ghost had never encountered a stuffed animal before, so he was curious enough to follow it about halfway up the ramp a few times. The “feedback” part was actually key, because Rabbits primarily learn through positive reinforcement. Also, as long as I had carrots, I had Ghost’s attention.

      Like

Leave a Reply

